Pasar al contenido principal

Roundtable on transforming research excellence: new ideas from the Global South

6 de Agosto de 2021
IDRC is moderating a roundtable discussion, hosted by African Minds and the University of Johannesburg, on transforming research excellence. 
Research Excellence Roundtable

When: 12 August 2021 (9:00 EDT  | 13:00 GMT | 18:30 IST) 

Where: Online & Open to all – register on African Mind’s event page 

The roundtable discussion will apply a critical lens to the notion of research excellence. The event will address questions such as what is “excellent” science and how can we recognize it, with an exchange of ideas on practical actions that can be taken to improve the operationalisation of the notion of excellence in the Global South. 

The book highlights gaps and shortcomings in how the notion of excellence is currently applied across research ecosystems, and argues that we must do better if scientific research is to fulfil its promise – as a productive force in creating a healthier, happier, more prosperous society, in particular in the Global South. 

The event will be moderated by Robert McLean, senior evaluation specialist at IDRC, and will include Drs. Suneeta Singh and Robert Tijssen as panelists, and Dr Ranjith Mahindapala as lead discussant. The panel discussion will be followed by a facilitated interactive session focused on capturing implementable ideas to take the excellence agenda forward.