Skip to main content

Knowledge on gender equality for the UN Commission on the Status of Women

March 4, 2022
Crises such as the COVID-19 pandemic and climate change exacerbate gender inequalities, putting women and girls at disproportionate risk. They also highlight the need to put women at the centre of solutions to address global challenges.
A woman hands a leaflet to another woman in Cumilla, Bangladesh
UN Women Asia and the Pacific

Several IDRC-related online events will bring evidence to bear on issues at the forefront of the sixty-sixth session of the United Nations Commission on the Status of Women (UNCSW), from March 14 to 25, 2022. This year’s session focuses on climate change, environment and disaster risk reduction as well as women’s economic empowerment in the changing world of work. 

Through official UNCSW side events and NGO CSW Forum panels, IDRC-supported researchers will share their findings and recommendations on  

  • COVID-19 impacts on women 

  • redressing gender inequalities in care work 

  • just and gender-equal transitions to low-carbon economies 

  • women’s economic empowerment through reform in public procurement, cross-border trade and social policies responding to the changing nature of work. 

The UNCSW is the principal intergovernmental body dedicated to the promotion of gender equality and the empowerment of women. Its civil society side, the NGO CSW Forum, brings together feminist and women’s rights groups and civil society organizations to learn from each other’s efforts and engage with the UN sessions. 

Achieving gender equality is a long-standing core focus of IDRC. Our investments in high-quality research contribute evidence needed to achieve equality by breaking down the barriers to women’s empowerment and how they intersect with other dimensions of equality such as race, age, sexuality and socio-economic position. 

To join any of these panel discussions, register using the links below.
 

IDRC panels at the NGO CSW Forum

Empowering women in the green economic recovery from COVID-19  

March 21, 2022 | 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. EDT 

International financial institutions and governments are pledging a recovery that’s green and socially inclusive, but what measures will they promote to sustainably boost women’s economic empowerment? This panel features researchers supported by IDRC’s Gender Equality in a Low-Carbon World initiative. They will present promising women-led solutions for green economies and climate action, including innovations in aquaculture, agriculture, land restoration and tourism. 

Link to the event
 

There is no recovery without informal workers 

March 22, 2022 | 8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. EDT  

Evidence from 11 cities documents the impacts of COVID-19 on women informal workers. Experts, including the leaders of street-vendor organizations in India and home-based workers in Thailand, will discuss pathways toward a gender-inclusive recovery. The research, led by Women in Informal Employment: Globalizing and Organizing, has resulted in promising organizational and government responses to build resilience for women informal workers in the changing world of work. 

Register here
 

Why COVID-19 recovery must be gender-responsive 

March 24, 2022 | 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. EDT 

A clear body of evidence is emerging from the IDRC-supported COVID-19 Response for Equity initiative to demonstrate the differing impacts of the pandemic on women, girls, boys, men and non-binary genders. This panel discussion will delve into this evidence and provide some recommendations for future policy responses to protect women’s livelihoods, food security, access to social protection and freedom from violence. 

Register here
 

Media
NGO CSW Logo

IDRC partner events at the NGO CSW Forum

Tackling foundations of inequality: Understanding barriers to women’s participation in public procurement in Eastern Africa 

March 23, 2022 | 8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. EDT  

This session will discuss emerging findings and policy recommendations on using public contracting to lift people out of poverty and foster gender equality.  

The session is organized by Africa Freedom of Information Centre, which is leading research supported by the Growth and Economic Opportunities for Women – East Africa initiative.  

Register here
 

The gendered transformation of work and implications for women’s economic empowerment in Mozambique 

March 23, 2022 | 8:00 a.m. – 9:30 a.m. EDT  

This session explores Mozambique’s care economy crisis, the role of the state in responding to this crisis of reproduction, and the key lines of struggle for feminist organizations. 

The session is organized by the Southern Centre for Inequality Studies, University of the Witwatersrand, South Africa, which is leading IDRC-supported research on technology and the future of work.  

Register here
 

Making the African Continental Free Trade Agreement work for women's economic empowerment 

March 25, 2022 | 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. EDT  

Women represent most of the continent’s cross-border traders. This session will review the trading reality for African women informal workers and opportunities in the Protocol on Women of the African Continental Free Trade Area.  

The session is organized by the Trade Law Centre, which is leading IDRC-supported research on gender-inclusive trade

Register here
 

Official UNCSW side events with IDRC participation

Shifting narratives and practices to achieve gender-just climate transitions 

March 15, 2022 | 10:00 a.m. – 11:15 a.m. EDT  

Ecofeminism offers powerful alternative narratives that value care for people and planet, in contrast to mainstream development. This side event brings together insights from ecofeminist research in the Global North and South to secure gender-just transitions to a low-carbon world. 

Register here
 

Promoting evidence-based policies in the Global Alliance of Care 

March 17, 2022 | 10:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m. EDT 

This side event contributes to the Global Alliance of Care by highlighting the need for research and evidence to make more effective care policies. Speakers will share the most recent research findings from Latin America that are informing policy responses aiming to recognise, reduce and redistribute unpaid care work. 

Register here

Aller au contenu principal

Connaissances sur l'égalité des genres pour la Commission de la condition de la femme des Nations Unies

7 mars 2022
Les crises comme la pandémie de COVID-19 et les changements climatiques exacerbent les inégalités entre les genres, exposant les femmes et les filles à des risques disproportionnés. Ces crises révèlent également la nécessité de placer les femmes au centre des solutions visant à relever les défis mondiaux.
A woman hands a leaflet to another woman in Cumilla, Bangladesh
UN Women Asia and the Pacific

Plusieurs événements en ligne menés par CRDI permettront de présenter des données probantes sur des questions qui seront au premier plan de la soixante-sixième session de la Commission de la condition de la femme des Nations Unies (CCFNU), du 14 au 25 mars 2022. La session de cette année se concentre sur les changements climatiques, l'environnement et l'atténuation des risques de catastrophes ainsi que sur l'autonomisation économique des femmes dans un monde du travail en mutation.

Dans le cadre d'événements parallèles officiels de la CCFNU et de panels du Forum ONG CSW66, les chercheurs soutenus par le CRDI feront part de leurs conclusions et leurs recommandations sur les sujets suivants :

  • Les répercussions de la pandémie de COVID-19 sur les femmes
  • Réduire les inégalités entre les genres dans le secteur des soins
  • Des transitions justes et égalitaires vers des économies à faible émission de carbone
  • L'émancipation économique des femmes grâce à une réforme des marchés publics, du commerce transfrontalier et des politiques sociales répondant à l'évolution de la nature du travail.

La CCFNU est le principal organe intergouvernemental consacré à la promotion de l'égalité des genres et à l'autonomisation des femmes. Son volet relatif à la société civile, le Forum ONG CSW66, rassemble des groupes féministes et de défense des droits de la femme ainsi que des organisations de la société civile afin d'apprendre des efforts de chacun et de se mobiliser en vue des sessions de l'ONU.

L'atteinte de l'égalité des genres est un objectif prioritaire de longue date du CRDI. Nos investissements dans la recherche de haute qualité apportent les données probantes nécessaires afin d'atteindre l'égalité en éliminant les obstacles à l'autonomisation des femmes et la façon dont ils se croisent avec d'autres dimensions de l'égalité telles que la race, l'âge, la sexualité et le statut socio-économique.

Pour participer à l'une de ces tables rondes, inscrivez-vous en utilisant les liens ci-dessous.
 

Les panels du CRDI au Forum ONG CSW66

Donner aux femmes les moyens de participer à la relance de l'économie verte après la pandémie de COVID-19

21 mars 2022 | 10 h à 11 h 30 (HAE)

Les institutions financières internationales et les gouvernements s'engagent à une reprise verte et socialement inclusive, mais quelles mesures vont-ils promouvoir pour renforcer durablement l'autonomie économique des femmes? Ce panel réunit des chercheures soutenues par l'initiative du CRDI Égalité des sexes dans un monde à faibles émissions de carbone. Elles présenteront des solutions prometteuses dirigées par des femmes pour les économies vertes et l'action climatique, notamment des innovations en matière d'aquaculture, d'agriculture, de restauration des terres et de tourisme.

Lien vers l'événement
 

Il n'y a pas de relance sans travailleuses informelles

22 mars 2022 | 8 h à 9 h 30 (HAE)

Des données provenant de 11 villes documentent les répercussions de la COVID-19 sur les travailleuses du secteur informel. Des expertes, dont les dirigeantes d'organisations de vendeuses de rue en Inde et de travailleuses à domicile en Thaïlande, discuteront des moyens de parvenir à une reprise qui peut tenir compte de la dimension de genre. La recherche, menée par l'organisme Femmes dans l’Emploi Informel : Globalisation et Organisation, a permis d'obtenir des interventions prometteuses de la part des organisations et des gouvernements pour renforcer la résilience des travailleuses informelles dans un monde du travail en mutation.

Inscrivez-vous ici
 

Pourquoi le rétablissement face à la pandémie de COVID-19 doit-il tenir compte des questions de genre?

24 mars 2022 | 10 h à 11 h 30 (HAE)

Un ensemble clair de données probantes émerge de l'initiative Réponses à la COVID-19 pour l'équité, soutenue par le CRDI, afin de démontrer les différentes répercussions de la pandémie sur les femmes, les filles, les garçons, les hommes et les personnes aux genres non-binaires. Cette table ronde examinera ces données probantes et fournira des recommandations pour les interventions politiques futures afin de protéger les moyens de subsistance des femmes, leur sécurité alimentaire, leur accès à la protection sociale et leur droit à une vie sans violence.

Inscrivez-vous ici
 

Media
NGO CSW Logo

Événements organisés par les partenaires du CRDI au Forum ONG CSW66

S'attaquer aux fondements de l'inégalité : Comprendre les obstacles à la participation des femmes aux marchés publics en Afrique de l'Est

23 mars 2022 | 8 h à 9 h 30 (HAE)

Cette session examinera les résultats émergents et les recommandations politiques sur l'utilisation des marchés publics pour sortir les gens de la pauvreté et favoriser l'égalité des genres.

La session est organisée par le Centre africain pour la liberté d'information, qui est un centre de recherche de premier plan soutenu par l'initiative Croissance de l'économie et débouchés économiques des femmes (CEDEF) en Afrique de l'Est.

Inscrivez-vous ici
 

La transformation sexospécifique du travail et ses implications pour l'émancipation économique des femmes au Mozambique

23 mars 2022 | 8 h à 9 h 30 (HAE)

Cette session explore la crise de l'économie des soins au Mozambique, le rôle de l'État dans la réponse à cette crise de la reproduction, et les principales lignes de lutte pour les organisations féministes.

La session est organisée par le Southern Centre for Inequality Studies de l'Université de Witwatersrand, en Afrique du Sud, qui dirige une recherche financée par le CRDI sur la technologie et l'avenir du travail.

Inscrivez-vous ici
 

Faire en sorte que l'accord de libre-échange continental africain contribue à l'autonomisation économique des femmes

25 mars 2022 | 10 h à 11 h 30 (HAE)

Les femmes représentent la majorité des commerçants transfrontaliers du continent. Cette session examinera la réalité commerciale des travailleuses africaines du secteur informel et les possibilités offertes par le protocole sur les femmes de la zone de libre-échange continentale africaine.

La session est organisée par le Trade Law Centre, qui dirige la recherche financée par le CRDI sur le commerce intégrant la dimension de genre.

Inscrivez-vous ici
 

Événements parallèles officiels de la CCFNU avec la participation du CRDI

Changer les récits et les pratiques pour réaliser des transitions climatiques équitables pour les femmes et les hommes

15 mars 2022 | 10 h à 11 h 15 (HAE)

L'écoféminisme offre d'autres options de récits puissants qui valorisent le souci des personnes et de la planète, contrairement au développement traditionnel. Cet événement parallèle rassemble des idées issues de la recherche écoféministe dans les pays du Nord et du Sud afin de garantir des transitions équitables entre les genres vers un monde à faible émission de carbone.

Inscrivez-vous ici
 

Promouvoir des politiques fondées sur des données probantes dans l'Alliance mondiale des soins

17 mars 2022 | 10 h à 11 h 30 (HAE)

Cet événement parallèle contribue à la Global Alliance of Care en soulignant le besoin de recherche et de données probantes pour élaborer des politiques de soins davantage efficaces. Les intervenants feront part des résultats des recherches les plus récentes menées en Amérique latine, qui alimentent les orientations politiques visant à reconnaître, réduire et redistribuer le travail de soins non rémunéré.

Inscrivez-vous ici